Recent Searches
Clear

Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavik, Iceland
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The winter months in Reykjavik are the perfect time to spot the Northern Lights. During this midnight adventure, taking place between September 1st and April 15th, journey to the perfect place to see the Aurora Borealis, and learn about this beautiful phenomenon from your guide. Your guide also captures the colorful night sky so you don't have to fuss around with your own camera or a professional photographer.
  • Search for the northern lights from September to April
  • Stay comfortable during your drive in a climate-controlled vehicle
  • Learn about the solar phenomenon from your guide
  • This Reykjavik midnight adventure includes hotel pickup and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
National Park fees
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Coffee and/or Tea

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 PM
We pick-up at all Bus-stops down town Reykjavík as well as all hotels and guesthouses in the Capital area of Reykjavík, Hafnarfjörður, Garðabær, Álftanes, Kópavogur and ZipCode 270 Mosefellsbær. General pick-up time is between 8:30pm and 9:00pm. At approximately 6pm on the evening of the tour we will email you to confirm your pick-up place and time. Your pick-up place will depend on the location of your accommodation: 1. If you are staying within the Reykjavik City Restricted Area, we will pick you up at one of the designated bus stops. When you notify us of your accommodation, we will let you know which bus stop is the closest one to you. 2. If you are staying outside of the restricted area, we will pick you up at your accommodation. In the email we will also give you a more accurate pick-up time (+/- 5 minutes) so that you won’t have to stay out in the cold for too long while waiting for the tour bus.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Iceland Everywhere Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
259 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 259 reviews
star-3
Persistence
Campos_D
, Apr 2022
The Guide was fantastic and did not rest until we were able to see the Northern Light. We returned close around 1500 hour and had booked another tour for 600
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your guide and his persistence. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Proposal under the Northern Lights
Joshua_h
, Apr 2022
We had an amazing time, Siggy was very entertaining and informative and knew exactly where to take us for a great view of the lights. Great for a proposal!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our tour and your guide Siggi. Congrats whit your proposal! Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Very cold but wonderful time.
Pamela_I
, Apr 2022
Just to see the lights we had rows separate experiences in the same night. The tour guide was knowledgeable and persistent on finding the beautiful northern lights
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your guide and his knowledge and persistent on finding the lights. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Amazing night.
Rhiannon_c
, Apr 2022
Amazing night! The guide was super enthusiastic, the lights were amazingly beautiful. Highly recommended.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our tour and your guide. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Nothern lights - night to remember
Faith_D
, Apr 2022
Drove out of town in crazy weather conditions expertly handled by Siggi. Arrived to the chosen area to also immediately see the Northern Lights. The hot choc on a crazy cold night and small group size was ideal. Siggi took some photos of us which is a nice momento. A highlight of our trip to Iceland.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our tour and your guide Siggi. May the photos bring back memories for time to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Electrifying sky
Anne_Y
, Apr 2022
Siggy knowledge of the northern lights nice small group at a reasonable price beautiful show in sky of northern lights
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your guide and our tour and got to experience the Northern Lights. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
The guides were amazing!...
Svenja_G
, Apr 2022
The guides were amazing! They really gave their absolute best so that we could see the Northern lights. They really did a lights hunt and we stayed outside for so long. Since it was quite cloudy the lights were not visible very well, but we still had an amazing night. We will for sure try again next time we are in Reykjavik and go again with this company.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our tour and our guides. We strive to do best by our customers. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Amazing tour
DAWN_K
, Mar 2022
Fantastic tour, really appreciated taking the chance to see them, when other tours cancelled. It paid off as we actually saw some wonderful lights. Thank you so much for a wonderful evening.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our tour and you saw the Northern Lights. May the photos bring back memories for time to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Magical night!
Nicole_P
, Mar 2022
Absolutely amazing experience!! Ronnie and Siggi were wonderful! I'd highly recommend booking with this company than going for the larger tours companies for the northern lights! You are more likely to go off the beaten track to get some amazing pictures! Ronnie also took pictures of us too and we were given some hot chocolate to warm us up whilst admiring the skies. So good! Thank you so much x
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed our tour and your guides. May the photos bring back memories for time to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
They came out to play!
Heidi_J
, Mar 2022
We was so delighted the northern lights came out to play! 😃 this made the whole trip to Iceland perfect! ❤️
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy you experienced the Northern Lights on our tour. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-1
Would not recommend Viator or this tour
chloehulbert91
, Mar 2022
Good morning, I have received what I believe to be quite a rude email from the tour operator, “putting facts straight” as he put it. He states the driver did not fall asleep. We saw it with our own eyes, when he severed and hit the lines and suddenly lifted his head back up from his chest and shook it. Their was no likelihood of seeing the lights and therefore it made no sense for the trip to go ahead. He took 3 buses out dude to the cancellations and our whole bus was everyone’s last option to view. This itself would have meant a loss of £42 per person so he did the trip anyway as to make the money. We were told of snacks and beverages by the driver. The ad does not say snacks, but the driver did. The hot drinks themselves were never provided. This was part of the tour that we did not get. We understand there was an option we would not see the lights, we sadly didn’t, but this is not the nature of my complaint. It is the service, the fact that we were never going to see them so the trip should not have gone ahead and was a money scam, the lack of being she’s, the driver dangerously putting us all at risk and pulling up on gravel pits with 2 or three other buses and not having much space to view as it was over occupied. The tour itself consisted of pulling up on gravel pits with 2 or three other buses and not having any space to view as it was over occupied in the area. Viator and the tour operator have provided really poor customer service and would not recommend to book with either.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Chloe and thank you for your review We are truly sorry how you feel about the tour and our service. We have via email explaned our side of the story, and we don´t see any reason to discusse this any further. Thank you for sharing your experience to other customers. Best regards Siggi
star-3
Not visible to the eye
Melissa_H
, Mar 2022
We went out on our first night, as there was a tour promise to 'try again' if you didn't see the northern lights. Our tour went out, when many other companies cancelled due to adverse conditions. Pick up was good and the minibus was comfortable. The explanations for the cause of northern lights was very good. We were taken out the city and parked up for about 2.5 hours. Our guide explained the lights were quiet, but visible. I saw absolutely nothing in the night sky by the naked eye. By use of a torchlight and long exposure, we had photos of us with a northern lights backdrop. I dispute I have seen them. I would have liked to try and see the lights again, but the guide was adamant we had seen them that night.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Melissa and thank you for your review. We operated the tour due to changes in weather forecast, as when it is cloudy it is impossible to see any northern lights and in clear sky it is the best conditions. The skies were clear that night and therefore best conditionas for norhtern lights viewing. Some other companies canceled their tours as the weather forecast showed cloudy night earlier the day, their decision had nothing to do with how bright the northern lights were that night. Like i explaned to you on our way out of the city, the northern lights are normaly barely visible to naked eye, and therefore it is important to be in as much darkness as possible, otherwise we don´t see anything. The lights are unpredictable and we never know what night they show up stronger, which happens once or twice a month. Therefore our indicate of visible lights is when we manage to photograph our customer with the lights, as due to long exposure on camera they show up brighter on photos and the torch is not to fake the northern lights but used instead of flash so you will be visible on the photo in the darkness. Best regards Siggi
star-5
Incredible experience
Frankie
, Mar 2022
The most amazing trip. Our tour guide Ronnie was clearly passionate about the northern lights and taking incredible photos for everybody, which really added to the experience. The lights themselves were just surreal and it was certainly a night to remember. The fact Iceland Everywhere don’t charge you for the profesional photos they take of you, really speaks volumes about this company and their motives. If you’re looking for a northern lights tour I would 100% recommend!!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed our tour and your guide Ronnie, he loves the Northern Lights as all our guides do. May the photos bring back memories for time to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Magical dancing northern lights
Sean_L
, Mar 2022
What an amazing experience, truly magical. From the get go our fabulous tour guide Ronnie excited us with his knowledge of the northern lights. We were worried due to cloud coverage throughout the day we may not get to see them. Well not for Ronnie, He knew where and when the break in the cloud would be and off we went… the thrilling chase for the northern lights… when he saw the cloud breaking it was time to stop and get out… at first he thought we would only see a Kp 3 but no we were lucky enough for KP 4-5! The sky danced before our eyes. Cannot thank Ronnie enough for this amazing experience. He could not have given us more knowledge or laughter along the way. 100% recommend booking as even if u don’t get lucky enough to see the northern lights, it won’t be for lack of trying!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed our tour and you guide Ronnie and you experienced amazing show of the Northern Lights. May the photos bring back memories for years to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
One of kind experience
Toni_S
, Feb 2022
We had an amazing time with our tour guide Tommi. He went above and beyond to make sure every opportunity was met for us to see the northern lights and he did not disappoint. He also sent us copies of the photos he took since our pictures didn't come out too good. Would highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are happy that you enjoyed our tour and your guide Tommi. We strive to so best for our customers and the Northern Lights can be tricky to spot and find. May the photos bring back memories for years to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-2
Disappointing
Shazia_N
, Feb 2022
Weather was challenging.Very faint northern lights were viewed. The guide made us suffer in a freezing cold bus and ruined the experience for us. He did not have an engaging personality and could not enthuse us with his description of northern lights.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. It is true the weather was challenging when you went out with us. We are sorry that you felt like you guide made you suffer in freezing cold bus and that ruined your experience and that you didn't find your guide have engaging personality. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-5
Brilliant
Martina_B
, Feb 2022
Our tour guide Tomi was amazing went above and beyond. He took some amazing photos for us of the northern lights and chased them all night for us . Thanks Tomi from the Irish sisters you were so good you made our night
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our tour and your guide Tommi. May the photos bring back warm memories for time to come. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-3
Average at best
Chris_P
, Feb 2022
First night was cancelled so we re-booked for the following night. Decent and comfortable transport. Guide tried hard to drive around ‘chasing’ the lights but got the impression it was more for him than the travellers. To see anything it seems you need a decent camera and know what you are doing with shutter speeds, timings etc. No advice given in advance or during the trip. Got back just before 3am. Overall ‘average at best’
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that your experience was not better. We drive around to find the Northern Lights for our customers and Northern Lights are never guaranteed. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-4
No northern lights but worth it.
Emma_S
, Feb 2022
Unfortunately we didn't see the northern lights, however due to bad weather the tour got cancelled three nights in a row but the communication was quick, easy and professional. The tour was very interesting, talking of the science behind the northern lights and the constellations. Even without seeing the northern lights it was beautiful to see so many stars! Hot chocolate wasn't as good as everyone says though.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our tour and customer service. We are truly sorry that you didn't see the lights on our tour and the chocolate was not good enough. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere
star-4
Personal but long winded
Joanne_W
, Feb 2022
There were 18 of us on the minibus tour. Pick up was punctual and easy, we were given a 10 min time slot. Our driver, Thomas, was confident we would see the lights as the conditions were good. We were taken to various locations, away from the area the main coaches were going to. Thomas was determined to keep trying so we weren’t disappointed. It felt like we were never going to get home or have our hot drink. Eventually, we were offered hot chocolate at about 1.30am, which was disappointing as on the booking it said we would get tea or coffee. On the way back Thomas tried one more time to show us the lights which meant we weren’t dropped off until 3am! We were offered a second trip for free but the conditions would not be good enough again during our stay. We have been promised access to photos from our trip which we have been promised but as yet have not received.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for your review. The tour duration is 3 to 5 hours and on your tour we were entering the city after 5 hour tour without seeing northern lights that was acceptable view. Then our apps measured increased activity and we asked our customers if they wanted to extend the tour half an hour even it was unlikely the active northern lights would be visible from Iceland that late night, it was a chance. Majority of our customers wanted to spend extra half an hour so we did. We are sorry that you didn´t like that decision. On our tours we offer hot chocolate and coffee to keep people warm when we stand outside in the cold for long time. On your tour we spend a lot of time driving around looking for while waiting for northern lights to appear, so our passengers didn´t get that cold on the bus. After midnight we did stop for an hour in the national park of Þingvellir, and served the hot beverages there. We are sorry you felt that to late and you didn´t ask for coffee instead for chocolate. It can take few days to send out the photo link because we have to gather photos from all drivers and sort through them before they are sent out. We try to send the photo link out within 5 days from tour date. Kind regards Iceland Everywhere

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík
Northern Lights Midnight Adventure from Reykjavík

star-5259

3 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.63

star-4.5183

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.00

star-3.5476

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-429

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.545

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$165.00

star-4.5235

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.03

star-517

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$98.51

star-54

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$1,448.86
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations