Recent Searches
Clear

Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour

star-4.595 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Salem, United States
19

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

The Salem Witch Trails was a period in history that is misunderstood easily. On this walking tour, follow a guide to main sites such as the witchcraft memorial and courthouse, as you hear stories from accusers and victims to gain a better understanding yourself. Plus, this Salem walking tour starts in the late afternoon leaving you plenty of time to fill up the rest of your day with activities.
  • Get closer to sights in Salem by exploring the city on foot
  • A guide knows the best spots to see in order to get the most out of your visit
  • Hear personal stories of actual accusers and victims of the Salem Witch Trials
  • A convenient meeting spot for this Salem tour makes it easy to get started
Saved to wishlist!
90-minute Salem Witchcraft Walking Tour
Local and Professional Guide
Gain detailed insight into the infamous 1692 Salem Witch Trials
Gratuities
Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
Parking

Departure Point

8 Central St, Salem, MA 01970, USA

Departure Time

4:00 PM

Departure Time

4:00 PM

Return Details

Salem, MA, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Tours depart at 4pm. Please plan to arrive 15-20 minutes prior to your tour. Check in at Salem Historical Tours Office at 8 Central Street, Salem, MA.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please be advised that the state of Massachusetts and the City of Salem are requiring masks to enter business establishments. You will not be able to enter our business without a mask or face covering. Until further notice, a mask or face covering will be required on tours since we will not be able to stay six feet away from each other. Salem Historical Tours LLC reserves the right to deny service to anyone refusing to wear a mask or face covering. This requirement is subject to change based on orders by the state and the city.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Salem Historical Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
95 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 95 reviews
star-5
Great and very educational
Joel_S
, Jun 2021
Great tour, learned a lot I didn’t know. My teenage daughter found it fascinating. It changed my perspective on the witch trails.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great Tour Guide
Jimmi_A
, Jun 2021
I thoroughly enjoyed our tour guide, she kept things lively when there wasn't physically much at all to see. This tour doesn't take you inside any attractions.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Witch trials come alive
Diana_T
, Jun 2021
The tour guide was excellent. He clearly knew his topic well & was able to answer everyone's questions. The length of the tour was good & everyone was able to keep up. He explained not just the witch yrials but why they happened on the first place. The main characters weren't just names but were portrayed as real people.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Disappointed
Rosalind_M
, Jun 2021
Was not handicap friendly. The streets were horrible to travel on. There was no access to the witch houses it was just talking. The tour guide was very knowledgeable though.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We're so sorry that you had a bad experience. The sidewalks and streets can be difficult and the construction doesn't help either. The route we take is a fairly level surface. There are no major hills or steps. We try to navigate through it for you. We do not go into any buildings on our tour nor does any other tour. If you were to go to the witch house, you could probably only see the first floor. But it is a building dating back to the 1660s and is grandfathered from ADA regs. We're happy you enjoyed the tour guide. We do provide a lot of great information on the tour. I will pass your comments onto the city about not being handicap friendly.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Definitely would recommend
Teresa_D
, Jun 2021
Our guide James was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I really learned a lot about the witch trials that I wasn’t aware of before. What a disturbing time in our countries history
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
James does a wonderful job and loves talking history. We're glad you enjoyed the tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Average
Tina_R
, Jun 2021
That’s was just ok. Not the best storyteller. Was A little disappointed. Tour guide was quirky and awkward.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed. We try to get to so many locations and provide so much information that it sometimes may not come out in a cohesive manner. It can be a challenge to disseminate the volume of info. We are going to send you a code to stream an interview with Marilynne Roach, an expert on the 1692 witchcraft trials.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Surreal
DeLoise_J
, Jun 2021
Let the truth be told!! Hoocus Poocus. The walk is beautiful and the people are soo pleasant. Historical
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you so much. We're glad you enjoyed the tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Very informative
Clara_C
, May 2021
Our tour guide was highly knowledgeable of the history and was able to incorporate the group and humor into the tour which kept us on our toes! We very much recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you so much. We're glad you enjoyed the tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Very interesting
Silverstar
, May 2021
The history of how people treated others. Just because of kids wanting attention. When people now here witch or if you wear pentagram your evil or call you follow devil. I've been in wicca since 70s And I always came across people like that. I always ignored them. But now doesn't bother me.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
The stories from that period are horrifying. What people believed and how they turned on their neighbors makes everyone cringe. We love giving the tour but we see a lot of guests just shocked. But we're glad you enjoyed touring with us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Very informative on the Historical aspects
Rebecka_J
, Apr 2021
Robert was very knowledgable about all of the witch trials and history of Salem. Very interesting. Only about a 1/2 mile walk in total and you get to pass by souvenir shops and restaurants along the mild walk, to figure out what you want to visit later.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
We are happy you enjoyed the tour. It is a very interesting and complex time in our history. Most of the locations are right in downtown Salem so there isn't a lot of walking.
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do